PREVIEW: 2017 Oi Rio Pro


Are you excited for the upcoming Oi Rio Pro event? Is the new location going to give the surfers the experience they want? Or is it going to be another disaster?

Here’s what we know from last year: surfers had big complaints about the venue and the quality of water, the event was poorly planned, there was potential sickness and shooting incidents were witnessed by some of the surfers themselves.

In terms of the competition, we saw disappearing acts, taking down former World Champs, and John John Florence’s stance that made him the undisputed champ of Oi Rio Pro 2016.

This year, WSL is bringing the event to the break of Saquarema, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. WSL’s top 24 men plus two wildcards and top 17 women plus one wildcard will be competing for this Event No. 4 of the WSL Championship Tour.

Men’s Round One Competitors:

Heat 1: Ethan Ewing, Gabriel Medina, Frederico Morais
Heat 2: Adriano De Souza, Ezekiel Lau, Nat Young
Heat 3: Jadson Andre, Wiggolly Dantas, Owen Wright
Heat 4: Kolohe Andino, Leo Fioravanti, Jeremy Flores
Heat 5: Josh Kerr, Jesse Mendes, Jordy Smith
Heat 6: John John Florence, Jack Freestone, TBA
Heat 7: Adrian Buchan, Ian Gouveia, Filipe Toledo
Heat 8: Joan Duru, Connor O’Leary, Matt Wilkinson
Heat 9: Bede Durbidge, Mick Fanning, Joel Parkinson
Heat 10: Conner Coffin, Kanoa Igarashi, Kelly Slater
Heat 11: Michel Bourez, Caio Ibelli, Stu Kennedy
Heat 12: Miguel Pupo, Julian Wilson, Sebastian Zietz

Women’s Round One Competitors:

Heat 1: Laura Enever, Sage Erickson, Carissa Moore
Heat 2: Courtney Conlogue, Nikki Van Dijk, Bronte Macaulay
Heat 3: Keely Andrew, Stephanie Gilmore, TBA
Heat 4: Bianca Buitendag, Coco Ho, Tyler Wright
Heat 5: Pauline Ado, Sally Fitzgibbons, Tatiana Weston-Webb
Heat 6: Johanne Defay, Silvana Lima, Lakey Peterson,

Event Date: May 9 – 20, 2017

Subscribe to Blinksurf and get updates on our latest posts