Kanoa Igarashi And Sage Erickson Crowned Pantin Classic Champions in Spain


Photo Source: WSL

Image Source: WSL

Kanoa Igarashi and Sage Erickson were crowned champions for the Men and Women’s Pro Events in Playa de Pantin, Galicia Spain. There were solid six to eight foot waves on offer all day.

Sage Erickson and Pauline Ado have faced off in the final heat for the Women’s event. Both of them had under-average scores on the tricky line up. Ado was able to set a lead on the ten minute mark with her forehand hack on a closeout section. She was able to build her score further in her next attempts.

Both Ado and Erickson have started on a wave with just about a minute remaining. Ado was able to maneuver four consecutive turns on a long right with a soft face. Erickson on the other hand had a quicker ride but has started with a snap and then completed the wave with a closeout hack. The buzzer sounded and both surfers paddled back awaiting their scores. Ado’s 8.33 gave her an extended lead. Erickson’s last wave though came in with 8.93 and that allowed her to snatch back the lead and the title for the Pantin classic.

This will be the second time Erickson wins a title in Pantin. She previously won the same event last 2012. This win boosts her rankings up by eight spots on the Qualifying Series to sit in equal fourth with only a few events remaining this season.

In the men’s Division, Kanoa Igarashi started the final heat with impressive turns and a score of 7.83. Michael Rodrigues answered back with a ride of his own and an excellent 8.67

Igarashi had a great display of his rail surfing and a series of progressive and power maneuvers which earned him an 8.60 which gave him the lead to snatch the title.


Igarashi who was on his first year amongst the Elite Top32, sits right outside the current re-qualification bubble ranking 21st. This result will propel him into the top ranks of the Qualifying Series as a safety net.

The Final Results:
1 – Sage Erickson (USA) 14.80
2 – Pauline Ado (FRA) 14.56

1 – Kanoa Igarashi (JPN) 16.43
2 – Michael Rodrigues (BRA) 14.80
3 – Tomas Hermes (BRA) 14.77
4 – Ian Gouveia (BRA) 14.04