Highlights From Day 1 Of Four Seasons Maldives Surfing Champions Trophy


Four Seasons Maldives Surfing Champions Trophy, the world’s most luxurious surf competition has kicked off, August 10, 2016 at Kuda Huraa, Maldives. Day 1 was a single fin division competition where Taj Burrow (AUS) has taken the win.

Burrow has put on an amazing show all day despite only riding a single fin for the first time. His vertical reentries and barrel rides have been on display all day. Burrow faced Rob Machado (USA) who was a former Pipe Master. They wen’t head to head and Burrow posted a 14.94 final heat score which gave him .94 margin against Machado.

Machado surfed a board that he shaped himself. He has consistently posted high heat scores during the event.

Shane Dorian (HAW) Last year’s champion went against Machado in Semifinal two. He was able to tie Machado’s heat total of 15.34 after tucking into a number of barrels. Machado won on a count back due to his highest single wave score for the heat.

World Surf League Deputy Commissioner and former Championship Tour competitor Travis Logie (ZAF) has faced Taj Burrow in Semifinal one. He had a heat total of 17.06 but was unable to overcome Burrow’s 18.44 score.

Local Trials Winner Hussain ‘Iboo’ Areef (MDV) borrowed a single fin from a friend because he has never ridden one in the past. The goofy footer was able to nail backhand hits which easily covered his lack of experience with the single fin. He ended up with a 12.40 heat total which was not enough for him to reach Semifinals.

The following are Single Fin Division Results

Round 1

Heat 1:
Taj Burrow (AUS) 15.67
Rob Machado (USA) 14.67
Bethany Hamilton (HAW) 13.56

Heat 2:
Shane Dorian (HAW) 15.93
Travis Logie (ZAF) 14.33
Iboo Areef (MDV) 12.44
Jamie O’Brien (HAW) 7.86


Heat 1:
Taj Burrow (AUS) 18.44
Travis Logie (ZAF) 17.06

Heat 2:
Rob Machado (USA) 15.34
Shane Dorian (HAW) 15.34

Taj Burrow (AUS) 14.94
Rob Machado (USA) 14.00

Event Background: The Four Seasons Maldives Surfing Champions Trophy tests skills across three divisions; Single-Fin, twin-fin and thruster divisions. The prize money is US $25,000

The event runs aboard Four Seasons Explorer, the ultimate surf vessel for the Maldives. Onboard VIP passes are available for fans to watch the competition up close. Four Seasons Resort Kuda Huraa, hosts the competitors, judges and Tropicsurf partners. Information on VIP passes are available through fourseasons.com/maldives