2016 Rip Curl Cup Padang Padang Invites All Star Cast


Rip Curl have officially announced the 16 surfers invited to compete in the 2016 Rip Curl Cup to be held in Padang Padang, Indonesia. The event’s official waiting period runs from Aug. 1 – 31 2016.

The all star cast is comprised of five World Surf League Championship Tour event champions, A three-time World Champion, and four Indonesian national champions. Among the international stars are Bruce Irons, Tom Curren, and Mason Ho. All of them in pursuit of the prestigious Rip Curl title and are willing to go further beyond the limits of tube-riding.

The defending Rip Curl Cup champion Garut Widiarta will represent Indonesia and will be joined by 2-Time Indonesian champion Lee Wilson and Indonesian ambassador of surfing, Rizal Tandjung.

It has earlier been announced that Rip Curl and WSL have agreed into a partnership for this prestigious event. The WSL officially added the Rip Curl Cup to its calendar of world-class surf competitions for 2016. In the 13 years that this event has been running, this year is seen to have the most potent cast as the result of the partnership.

Here is the complete list for the 2016 Rip Curl Cup Surfers:

International Surfers:
1. Tom Curren (USA)
2. Pat Curren (USA)
3. Mason Ho (HAW)
4. Damien Hobgood (USA)
5. Bruce Irons (HAW)
6. Clay Marzo (HAW)
7. Jamie O’Brien (HAW)
8. Dillon Perillo (USA)
9. Jack Robinson (AUS)
10. Bruno Santos (BRA)
11. Jacob Willcox (AUS)
12. Tim Bisso (FRA)

Only 8 international surfers will secure a spot for the event.

Indonesian Surfers:
1. Bol Adi Putra
2. Raditya Rondi
3. Mega Semadhi
4. Rizal Tandjung
5. Usman Trioko
6. Garut Widiarta
7. Lee Wilson
8. TBD (winner of local trials)

The 2016 Rip Curl Cup Padang Padang will be webcast live to the world through live.ripcurl.com. Rip Curl’s site is also available for fans looking to check real-time contest status and video updates straight from Bali.