Ultimate Luxury Surfing Event In The World To Run In August

The Four Seasons Maldives Surfing Champions Trophy is set to run on August 8-14, 2016.
It is an all-expense paid surf contest that is hosted by the Four Seasons Resorts in collaboration with TropicSurf, a luxury surf travel company. The exclusive event invitees include last year’s defending champion Shane Dorian, Taj Burrow, Rob Machado, Travis Logie, Jamie O’Brien and Bethany Hamilton.

The competition will be held on a tiny portion of sand known as Kuda Huraa. Home to the wonderful right-hander known as Sultan’s in the North Atoll, Maldives. Known as the World’s Most Luxurious Surfing Event, the primary concept of the competition is to treat the invited pro surfers as celebrities; and pamper them with five star accommodation, lounge time, massages and dining aboard the Four Seasons Explorer, a catamaran that bills $100,000 per week. Then when the waves are in favorable conditions, the surfers will compete in a few heats.

The competition takes on a different approach, which involves the use of different craft in each round. The first round will be on a single-fin, the second round will feature twin fins, and the 3rd round will be for thrusters. Points are awarded after every round with a $25,000 prize at stake.

It is notable that the crew on this year’s event is star-studded just as the previous years. The invitees for previous events include Dave Rastovich, Tom Carroll, Taylor Knox, Tom Curren, and Martin Potter.

This year, TropicSurf has taken a different twist for the contest, a local wildcard has been added to the lineup. Hussain “Iboo” Areef, the current local Maldives Surfing Champion, will go up against a tough group of world renown pro surfers.